Gallery Talk: Illuminance

Gallery Talk: Illuminance

July 22, 2017 @ 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm America/Chicago Timezone
The Buddy Holly Center
1801 Crickets Ave
Lubbock, TX 79401
Gallery Talk: Illuminance @ The Buddy Holly Center  | Lubbock | Texas | United States

The Buddy Holly Center announces Illuminance, a national competitive biennial competitive photography show, featuring work in response to a theme. The exhibition will be on display in the Fine Arts Gallery.

The theme for this year’s show is A Musical View, chosen by Juror Brett L. Erickson. The theme explores the long-standing relationship between music and photography, and invited photographers to explore the intercourse of tone, color and image, in all its powerful permutations.

Juror Brett L. Erickson is an internationally acclaimed photographer whose work has been shown in locations such as London, England; Laguna Beach, California; Kamloops, British Colombia; Santa Fe, New Mexico; SoHo, New York and Berlin, Germany.

As a professional journalist and documentary photographer, his work has been featured in outlets such as, National Public Radio, American Public Media, and Nebraska Educational Telecommunications; he formerly served as the freelance Central Nebraska Bureau Chief for NET Radio (Nebraska Public Radio). His first book, PlainSky, Nebraskans, with National Geographic’s Sam Abell, was published in 2013, and he is currently working on a second involving the culture of rural rodeos in the High Plains of the American West. A sought-after workshop instructor, Mr. Erickson will host a Gallery Talk during the Closing Reception at 3 p.m. on Saturday, July 22 in the Fine Arts Gallery.

Participating artists for this year’s Illuminance include: Kristina Arafat, Megan Betteridge, Emmitt Booher, Linda Duffy, Carol Flueckiger, George S. Gati, Steve Goff, Manuel Gonzales, Melinda Green Harvey, Chris Hanoch, Naomi Hill, Craig Kelley, Amy Kim, Michelle Kott, Ann McDonald, Sherry Peña, Lindsey Phillips, April Pilley, Thelma Pilley, Donna Rose, Melany Sarafis, Fran Sherpa, Casey Smith, Christena Stephens, Beckwith Thompson, Ashton Thornhill, Mitchell Wachtel and Jocelyn Young.

Featured Image: Moontime by Beckwith Thompson – 2017 Best of Show

Hours of Operation
Tuesday – Saturday
10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
1 – 5 p.m.
Closed Mondays